K11 Owners Group Forum Index K11 Owners Group
K11 Owners Group
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Check out this K1200RS for $2,700!

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    K11 Owners Group Forum Index -> Campfire
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Stoked Steve
Flying Brick Rider


Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Posts: 1402
Location: Virginia Beach, VA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 6:01 pm    Post subject: Check out this K1200RS for $2,700! Reply with quote

My first question, what's wrong with it? Second question, are you nuts?

Third question, "Honey, mind if I spend $2,700 on a new bike?"

Answer, "Sure, show me the $2,700 and you can do what you want with it." Damn, got me there.


http://norfolk.craigslist.org/mcy/916506591.html

I'm going to comfort myself with the old adage, "If it's sounds too good to be true..."
_________________
Steve
Virginia Beach, VA
93 K1100RS Mystic Red SOLD
12 Suzuki DL650A VStrom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scott_Anderson
Site Admin


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 3122
Location: Central Iowa, USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd be willing to bet that it's a misprint/typo. No way would you sell that for $2700. I'd believe $7200 for it.
_________________
Ride safe.



1995 K1100LT 0302044
2017 FLHTK Ultra Limited
Garmin StreetPilot 2820
Garmin Zumo 550
Garmin Zumo XT
"One who does not ask questions is ashamed to learn" Danish proverb
1997 K1100LT 0302488(R.I.P.)
1997 R1100RT ZC62149(sold)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Ted
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 1117
Location: Further

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am betting if you contact the seller you will get a reply that the seller is overseas and that he wants you to do the transaction with Moneybookers. You send the money and get the bike shipped to you, if you don't like it you send the bike back and get all your money back. Only you never see the bike, never talk to the seller, and after you send off your money you never see it again either.

Newest scam from our Nigerian friends, and unfortunately all over craig's list.
_________________
Ted
KOG#1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stoked Steve
Flying Brick Rider


Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Posts: 1402
Location: Virginia Beach, VA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've written him an email asking the same thing. I did a KBB check on it and it shows as $6,900 retail.

I'll see what the response is.

Not getting hopes up, but damn I love the look of that model/style, I have a poster of one in my garage that I drool over regularly.
_________________
Steve
Virginia Beach, VA
93 K1100RS Mystic Red SOLD
12 Suzuki DL650A VStrom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stoked Steve
Flying Brick Rider


Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Posts: 1402
Location: Virginia Beach, VA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ted, you are a sage of great wisdom! Check this out.

"Hi,
The bike is in great condition, has been properly maintained, has never been dropped or abused in any way. It has a clear title and the price I`m selling it for is $2700, which is including all shippings charges.
I live in Norfolk but I`m currently working in the UK (London) and I`ll be staying here for the next approximately 7 months, anyway I`m using MoneyBookers services so I can sell this bike without difficulty. I left it at their warehouse before leaving to the UK. They are supervising the entire process from payment, shipping with a 14-day inspection period included, returns (if needed) and refunding.
If you want to purchase it, let me know and I will explain you how MoneyBookers works and how we can move forward.
I am waiting your email.
Thanks"

The old adage proves correct again!

I've posted a warning on Craig's list for others to see.
_________________
Steve
Virginia Beach, VA
93 K1100RS Mystic Red SOLD
12 Suzuki DL650A VStrom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Flying Duck
PsyKotic Waterfowl


Joined: 27 Jan 2005
Posts: 10102
Location: Bumf***, WA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What a scamtastic deal. Rolling Eyes
_________________
93 LT (x2)
94 RS
86-97 K75F(K75/100/1100 Frankenbrick)
86 K75C w/paralever, hi perf cams,TURBO!
91 & 92 K75Ss
91 K1
86 custom K100
14 WR250R
IBA #17739 (SS1K, BBG, 50CC)
Buy parts HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rider
Flying Brick Rider


Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 222
Location: La Grande, OR

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 8:44 pm    Post subject: Craig's List Scams Reply with quote

Ted is right; there are autos, motorcycles and even scooters listed for prices that are half or less of what the average machine is worth. The scammers steal photos from auctions and other listings on Craig's list and compose an attractive description of the vehicle and post it. If you are attracted to one of these "good deals" check Kelly or one of the other lists before you waste time or money. The other thing that can happen is if you give enough personal information you could become a victim of identity theft.

It's a rough world out there, be careful.

Ed
_________________
2007 650 Burgman, 2003 400 Burgman


Some days you get the bear, some days the bear gets you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Stoked Steve
Flying Brick Rider


Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Posts: 1402
Location: Virginia Beach, VA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Funny, after my terse reply to the obvious scam and warning posted on Craig's list, the listing disapeared.

He only has my e-mail and name, anything he can do with that?
_________________
Steve
Virginia Beach, VA
93 K1100RS Mystic Red SOLD
12 Suzuki DL650A VStrom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ted
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 1117
Location: Further

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unless you also sent along address, DoB and SS number I wouldn't worry Smile These guys have also been stealing regular ads too so even seemingly legit ads can be suspect. They have my name and e-mail, unless your password is the same as your login or something like "1234" I would not worry.
_________________
Ted
KOG#1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jpberens1994K1100RS
Flying Brick Rider


Joined: 06 Apr 2008
Posts: 784
Location: Hales Corners, WI. / Relocating to central FL.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 11:55 am    Post subject: scams, yeah, when it sounds too good to be true, it is. Reply with quote

Yup, ran into a few of those when I was looking for a bike too.
Any one else out there had any luck messing with these clowns?
I responded to a juicy add & got the same thing, I'm working in London blah blah, send $, bike is excellant, blah blah.
Then he started e-mailing me too and wanted to know where the down payment was as he needed it soon to hold the bike. Told him I'd love to meet in person and was travelling to a trade show in Germany for work the very next week and would have cash in hand and a couple spare days.
Also asked for his number so I could call direct. Reponses stopped after that.
Also had another send ME A CHECK!!!!!! He told me to just re-pay the difference and could I wire the funds. I said sure! Just as soon as the check clears I'd bring him the funds persoanlly cause I'd just like to meet him & talk about the bikes history. Asked him for his address & told him I travel freguently abroad, pure BS, and that I really really want to hand the funds to him personally, more BS, but more importantly that I'd really really like to give him a little extra for his troubles, not BS. Wish we could have met, still have his little extra sumthin, still saving it for him, hoped he could take to hell with him for me as I'm TRYING to reform, and really don't indent to visit, not BS.
_________________
1993 K1100RS that I'd rather be riding FAST!
2014 Moto Guzzi Norge
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Beachcomber
Flying Brick Rider


Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 350
Location: Redditch UK and Reichenau [ Saxony ]

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2008 5:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This kind of scam was rife here in the UK about 2-3 years ago, especially on Flea Bay. However word got round quickly and it's all but dissapeared.

As have the "I'm an African Prince and you are my long lost relative and the tribe has left you an inheritance as the next chief - send money so that we can release the funds etc.,etc."....... Rolling Eyes

HOWEVER, what IS true is that I just bought a pristine 1993 K1100RS with slight overheating problems for £500 [ $1000 's 'ish ].
Came with ABS, full Beemer luggage and virtually new tyres. Laughing Laughing

Now then - 11's seem to be very reasonable here in the UK, if any of you Gents wants me to check out "an unmissable bargain" for shipping - I'll do my best for you. Just send lots of money to my Isle of Man account.........

TJ
_________________
Beachcomber '93 K1100RS / '93 K1100LT and several K100's
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    K11 Owners Group Forum Index -> Campfire All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group